Search This Blog

Tuesday, May 29, 2012

EURO 2012 : Germany name tournament squad

Germany has announced their final squad for UEFA EURO 2012, trimming the initial list from 27 players to 23.

Among the omissions are goalkeeper Marc-André ter Stegen and 18-year-old Julian Draxler, who made their senior international debuts in Saturday's 5-3 loss to Switzerland, while Borussia Dortmund midfielder Sven Bender and Cacau also miss out.

Germany Euro 2012 squad :

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer (FC Bayern München), Tim Wiese (SV Werder Bremen), Ron-Robert Zieler (Hannover 96).

Defenders: Holger Badstuber (FC Bayern München), Jérôme Boateng (FC Bayern München), Benedikt Höwedes (FC Schalke 04), Mats Hummels (Borussia Dortmund), Marcel Schmelzer (Borussia Dortmund), Philipp Lahm (FC Bayern München), Per Mertesacker (Arsenal).

Midfielders: Lars Bender (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Toni Kroos (FC Bayern München), Thomas Müller (FC Bayern München), Mesut Özil (Real Madrid CF), Sami Khedira (Real Madrid CF), Marco Reus (VfL Borussia Mönchengladbach), André Schürrle (Bayer 04 Leverkusen), Bastian Schweinsteiger (FC Bayern München), Mario Götze (Borussia Dortmund), İlkay Gündoğan (Borussia Dortmund).

Forwards: Miroslav Klose (S.S. Lazio), Mario Gomez (FC Bayern München), Lukas Podolski (Arsenal).


Germany take on Israel on 31 May in their final friendly game before their UEFA EURO 2012 Group B campaign kicks off against Portugal in Lviv on 9 June.

No comments: